North Carolina CDL License Test North Carolina Commercial Drivers License CDL North Carolina CDL
REMINDER! Add to Favorites

NC CDL License Info - NC CDL Test Info

North Carolina CDL FAQs
Get Your 2015 NC CDL (Best)

NC CDL License Test - FAQs

2015 North Carolina CDL License and CDL Test INFO
Qs & As → CDL Requirements → CDL Process & Procedures →
Get YOUR North Carolina CDL

North Carolina CDL License Test HOME - commercial drivers license - cdl licence North Carolina CDL License TEST INFO - CDL EXAM - CDL TEST - CDL A Test North Carolina CDL License Test FAQs - cdl practice, cdl practise test North Carolina CDL License Test COURSE INFO - CDL - cdl training, cdl a training, training cdl North Carolina CDL Practice Test
If you are not a resident of North Carolina please ?
Customer Reviews Best CDL Test Prep Program Available - 5 star rating 4.8 score for 68 reviews.

Welcome - today is Sunday, April 19, 2015 - our CDL Package is guaranteed current for the next 90 days.

Don't keep putting it off.   Start your CAREER today!

Specific North Carolina CDL Information

North Carolina Commercial Driver License CDL

Classes of North Carolina CDL (Commercial Driver's License)

North Carolina CDL Learner Permit

Your North Carolina Commercial Driver license is issued for a period of 5 years.

The cost of a North Carolina license & endorsements is based on the yearly charge.

North Carolina CDL Requirements & Documents

You will need to bring 4 documents total
To avoid inconveniences, make sure you have all necessary documents before visiting the Driver License Office.

In order to apply for the first time issuance of a NC CDL you will need to gather documents from the following categories:

Proof of Clear Driving Record
At time of application, you must certify that;

CDL Holders Medical & Physical Requirements

Many commercial motor vehicle drivers are required to have medical cards. Those who require medical cards are required to bring them at the time of both the original application and renewal.

If questions arise about a driver's physical condition, the DMV may require the driver to submit a completed medical report, before or after certification, provided by the DMV Driver License Section.

North Carolina CDL Learner Permit - Additional Requirements

North Carolina CDL Tests

North Carolina CDL Written Tests - Written tests are provided at all full service Driver License locations.

North Carolina CDL Skills Tests - Skills tests are provided at many Driver License locations throughout NC. Skills tests are also given by Certified Third Party testers to employees of their company.

North Carolina CDL Fees

Payments for transactions at Driver License Offices are accepted in the form of cash, money order, personal checks. Debit/credit cards are not accepted at this time.

North Carolina CDL Suspensions & Revocations

In addition to the rules that apply to the driving public, Commercial Driver License (CDL) holders are required to follow rules specific to Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) drivers in order to comply with the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act, maintain their CDL license and keep their school bus driving privileges.

North Carolina Commercial Driver License Rules

For a complete listing of rules, view the Commercial Driver's Manual, Section 1. A few key rules include:

For the most complete and accurate official North Carolina state CDL information, go to the Official North Carolina CDL Website.

What is a CDL?
A "CDL" is a Commercial Drivers License. It meets certain minimum "standards" that are the same for every state. It differs from the North Carolina "operator's" or "chauffeur's" licenses. It is required if you drive certain kinds of commercial trucks or buses.

What is the COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE SAFETY ACT OF 1986 (CMVSA/86) administered by the FMCSA?
It is a law passed by the United States Congress which requires ALL the individual states to comply with certain standards in regards to the licensing of commercial motor vehicle (CMV) drivers. North Carolina driver licensing standards comply with the law, requiring CMV drivers to obtain a North Carolina Commercial Driver's License (CDL) when driving applicable trucks and buses. A CDL license can ONLY be issued in the driver's STATE OF LEGAL RESIDENCE, and if you have a CDL, you can have NO OTHER DRIVER'S LICENSE in ANY other state.

When do I need a North Carolina CDL instead of my regular North Carolina Drivers License?
A North Carolina CDL is required if you operate any of the following CMV's . . .
1. A vehicle with a manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of more than 26,000 lbs.
2. A vehicle towing a unit with a manufacturer's GVWR of more than 10,000 lbs. when the GCWR exceeds 26,000 lbs.
3. A vehicle used to . . .(a.) carry 15 or more passengers (excluding the driver), or (b.) carry (15) or less people (including the driver) when carrying children to or from school and home regularly for compensation.
4. A vehicle carrying hazardous materials in amounts requiring placarding.

What are the eligibility requirements to obtain a North Carolina CDL?
1. You must be 21 years old. (18 years if all commercial driving is done within North Carolina and if no hazardous materials requiring placarding are transported and if you do not drive double or triple trailer rigs).
2. You must be physically capable (in accordance with the MCSR 49 CFR 391.41 Physical Qualifications for Drivers regulations) of obtaining a valid DOT medical examiner's card (before being issued a CDL permit or taking any CDL skills test).
3. You must otherwise qualify for the license based on your driving record. Any of the following will disqualify you from obtaining a North Carolina CDL . . .
* If you possess a license from any state other than North Carolina.
* If you are currently subject to any disqualification of your commercial driving privilege from North Carolina or any other state.
* If your license is currently suspended, revoked, denied, or cancelled.
* If you have a conviction for operating a commercial motor vehicle while impaired in the 24 months immediately preceding application.
* other technical rules, and further restrictions that pertain only to North Carolina are covered in detail within the Course.

How do I obtain a North Carolina CDL?
1. Show your North Carolina driver license.
2. You must take and pass all North Carolina examinations that apply to your license class and endorsement requirements.
3. Show proof of social security number.
4. Meet North Carolina driver record eligibility requirements as determined by the State.
5. Fill out an application including certifications.
6. Provide a DOT medical certificate and pass the required CDL knowledge and vision tests (BEFORE a CDL Temporary Instruction Permit will be issued).
7. Pay the North Carolina CDL fees.
8. Schedule, take, and pass your North Carolina CDL skills test.

A separate booklet is included in the North Carolina CDL Course package which covers information such as fees, locations, contacts, procedures and other items specific to North Carolina for the written and skills examinations for ALL classes of CDL and ALL available endorsements.

What is a CDL "Skills Test" and how do I take it?
A "skills" test is the practical portion of the exam and includes . . .
1. A vehicle inspection test to measure your ability to perform a vehicle safety check.
2. A basic control skills test.
3. A driving test.
The skills test is normally given at an approved third party testing site in your area. This can vary and the latest procedures are indicated in the North Carolina CDL Course.

So let's say I get a North Carolina CDL. Can I use it Out-of-State?
Yes! It is good throughout the entire United States.

Can my North Carolina CDL be suspended or revoked?
Yes, there are MANY reasons that your North Carolina CDL can be suspended or revoked. Improper use of alcohol or drugs, traffic violations, and failure to notify top the list. The Course details ALL of the rules regarding suspension or revocation. The point to remember is that alcohol or drug use is not tolerated and your record WILL FOLLOW YOU THROUGHOUT THE UNITED STATES FOREVER!!!

So let's say that my North Carolina CDL is revoked. Can't I just apply for a CDL in another State?
No!!! Those days are gone.

Are there any exemptions to being required to have North Carolina CDL?
Yes, a few . . .
1. Active Duty Military . . . with military licenses operating military vehicles.
2. Firefighters . . . meeting approved training standards and operating authorized emergency vehicles.
3. Farmers . . . in certain cases.
4. Individuals ....operating motor homes or other vehicles used exclusively to transport personal possessions or family members, for non business purposes.

What do the terms Class A, Class B, and Class C mean on my North Carolina CDL?
It refers to the type of vehicle that you may operate . . .
CLASS A . . . allows you to operate vehicles which tow trailers or other vehicles with a GVWR over 10,000 pounds. A Class "A" license also allows you to operate Class B and C vehicles.
CLASS B . . . allows you to operate single vehicles with a GVWR of 26,001 lbs or more OR a gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 26,001 lbs. or more, towing trailers/vehicles rated at 10,000 pounds GVWR or less. A Class "B" license also allows you to operate Class C vehicles.
CLASS C . . .allows you to operate vehicles under 26,001 lbs. GVWR, that would normally not require a CDL; except when they are designed to transport 16 or more persons including the driver; or that carry 15 or less people (including the driver) transporting children to or from school and home regularly for compensation, or carry hazardous materials in amounts requiring placarding. Applicable endorsements are required.

What are Endorsement Codes and when do I need them on my North Carolina CDL?
Endorsements are necessary for certain commercial driving requirements as follows . . .
(P) PASSENGER. For vehicles which are designed to carry 16 or more people (including the driver); or those which carry 15 or less people (including the driver) transporting children to or from school and home regularly for compensation.
(N) TANK VEHICLES. For vehicles designed to haul liquids or liquefied gases in bulk in permanently mounted tanks or portable tanks rated at 1,000 gallons or more.
(H) HAZARDOUS MATERIALS. To carry hazardous materials in amounts requiring placards.
(X) Endorsement code designating a Tank (N) vehicle that carries Hazardous Materials (H).

I'm over 18 years old, but not 21 years old yet. Can I get a North Carolina CDL license?
Yes . . . with restrictions. You are limited to INTRAstate driving of commercial vehicles (you cannot drive a commercial truck or bus out of North Carolina). You cannot drive a vehicle requiring HAZ MAT placarding, cannot drive double or triple trailer rigs and cannot drive a School Bus with children on board until you turn 21 years of age.

We could go on and on with FAQs but I hope this covers most of your GENERAL questions. Please be assured that the Course answers EVERYTHING that you need to know to obtain ANY or ALL of the available CDL licenses and endorsements in an easy to understand manner. The material is presented in three different ways to reinforce your retention. GOOD LUCK !!

NC CDL, NC commercial driverse licenseNC CDL    NC cdl examination, NC cdl exams, NC cdl testNC CDL TEST    NC cdl a test, NC cdl licence, NC cdl licenseNC CDL FAQs    NC CDL Practice TestNC CDL COURSE    NC cdl license, NC cdl license testNC CDL LICENSE

Advanced Tech Courses

Copyright © 1996 - 2015 by Advanced Tech Courses. All rights reserved.